UK coronavirus LIVE: Death toll up by 137 as top scientist warns of ‘superspreading’ risk in pubs

What do the latest travel rules mean? 


Passengers arriving into England from “lower risk countries” will no longer be subject to quarantine, the Government has said.

Officials are also set to add exemptions to the Government’s policy of advising against all non-essential overseas travel, allowing people to take holidays overseas without their insurance policies being affected.

What will be announced on Friday?

Transport secretary Grant Shapps will announce the lifting of the quarantine policy for passengers arriving in England from countries such as Spain, France, Italy and Germany from July 10, with other countries due to form part of this list.

Meanwhile, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office will set out exemptions for a number of destinations from its global advisory against “all but essential” international travel which will come into force on Saturday.

How will these announcements impact on travel?

The quarantine policy will mean that people either returning to or visiting England from the listed countries will not need to self-isolate for 14 days after arrival.

The Government has said there is an “expectation” that exempted countries will also not require arrivals from the UK to self-isolate.

What will the FCO advice change mean?

The FCO’s announcement will mean that people can travel to a number of destinations overseas with regular travel insurance policies.


What about Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland?

The Department for Transport said the devolved administrations “will set out their own approach”.

This means passengers arriving in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland “should ensure they follow the laws and guidance which applies there”.

Could this advice change?

Exempted countries and territories will be constantly reviewed and self-isolation measures could be reintroduced in future, the Government said.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.